04/04/13: Gender Discrimination and Sexual Harassment at the Labor Ready in North Quincy

by thiswinteralso

April 4, 2013

Tuesday morning, I went to the Labor Ready in North Quincy.  I was loudly coughed at a lot by one of the male employees, and coughed at a few times by a few of the others.  There was a Wet Floor sign by the front door.

One of the office staff asked me to stay around North Quincy and to be at the Labor Ready office by 10:00 a.m. for work that might be available at 2:00 p.m..  When you are a temporary employee for Labor Ready, you are supposed to be at the office by 5:30 a.m..  The office opened a few minutes before 6:00 a.m.Tuesday morning, and I was outside its doors before that happened, before the female office staff worker who opened the office got there.

I did what I was asked to do; I stayed in North Quincy, and was at the office again by 10:00 a.m..  I had already waited for work in the office for a couple of hours before she asked me to be there again at 10:00 a.m..

I ended up waiting in the office until 12:00 p.m., during which these things happened:

–I was told that the work, which was to clean at IHOP, and which was originally scheduled for 2:00 p.m., might not be until 9:00 p.m..  I said that I would still do it.

–I heard the female office worker saying to someone on the phone “If you want to exchanged the workers that you get within the first 2 hours, call us and we’ll send you others, free of charge.”  I’ve never heard anyone at Labor Ready say that before.

–The same office worker gave loud coughs for a while, and then told me that the work was cancelled.  She said “If you’re here tomorrow, I’ll try to get you work.”

I was stalked by vehicles the entire day, and blatantly harassed with coughing and other gestures several times, also.

I was too tired and upset to try to do the same thing all over again yesterday, so I called that night and left a message saying that I’d be there this morning, Thursday.  Labor Ready is per diem work, so it shouldn’t have been a problem that I wasn’t there yesterday.

When I got there this morning, these things happened:

–The Wet Floor sign was still on the carpeted floor by the front door.

–I got loudly coughed at by the same male employee.

–The bathroom was out of toilet paper.  When I asked the male office worker for toilet paper, he snorted through his nostrils when he gave it to me.

–While I was in the restroom, with the light off, which is how I use every restroom now when I can, there was someone coughing in the room outside.

–When the female office worker got to the office, the one who had kept me waiting around for hours Tuesday, harassed me and then told me that the work was cancelled, she was wearing a green scarf. She said nothing to me; not hello, nothing.  When I walked past the counter, she coughed at me.

I left.  I didn’t think that I was going to get work, and I didn’t think that there was a reason to stay there to be harassed, ignored for work and otherwise abused until I lost my temper and was yelled at and told not to try to find work there in the future.

I never got work from the Labor Ready in South Boston, no matter how many times I was there at 5:30 a.m., to sit for hours and be abused.  Is this going to be the same experience?

 

Copyright L. Kochman, April 4, 2013 @ 9:30 a.m.

