02/27/13: It was thoughtful and courageous of Jennifer Garner to wear a purple dress to the Academy Awards.

by thiswinteralso

February 27, 2013

I don’t think that the affiliation of me with a color that symbolizes support for victims of domestic violence has to or should go beyond the wearing of that color to the Academy Awards by the person whose husband directed the movie that won Best Picture.  I am grateful that she wore the dress; I also don’t want my parents to be permanently demonized.

I’m sure that my parents didn’t plan my birth so that we would fight so much throughout my youth, starting from my late teens, that our relationship would have to end.  It’s probably better for them and for me that we not talk, but I don’t want them to be punished forever.

Copyright L. Kochman, February 27, 2013 @ 4:33 p.m./removed and republished @ 6:04 p.m.

