02/25/13: “I’ve worked here for 22 years.”

by thiswinteralso

February 25, 2013

There is an older, African-American woman who works the overnight shift at the shelter where I’ve been staying at the Lindemann Center, who, when I first met her, said “I’ve worked here for 22 years.”

She never misses a chance to be rude to me or to make things more difficult than they have to be.  She has been consistent in her malicious behavior toward me, and gives me the feeling that she would be more abusive if she thought that she could be, and I would consider a child with whom she spends time or to whom she has access to be at high risk for being molested or otherwise abused.  I’m also concerned that she will say or do something to try to cause me to have to leave the shelter; speaking ill of me for no reason to other staff or to the manager, for example.

Copyright L. Kochman, February 25, 2013 @ 7:12 p.m.

