12/26/12: The Pine Street Inn, skewed perceptions, working the system, Hostelling International, The Eyeopener

by thiswinteralso

December 26, 2012

Several months ago, I started to accept some financial help every month. It’s much less money than what a lot of homeless people get each month from disability checks.

Because of the help that I accepted, I have been able to be much more independent than I could be before then. Without a cell phone, it would have been difficult to find work even if hiring me weren’t fraught with difficulty because of how the conglomerate treats me. It’s still difficult, but I was able to work for a few months when I was staying in Waltham.

Before I was getting some money each month, I wasn’t able to do anything for myself and dependent on shelters for everything. I also had to walk everywhere because I couldn’t buy transportation passes, which shelters don’t provide.

Many of the homeless people who get disability checks spend them on hotels and drugs. Everyone who has been homeless for a while knows that if there are fewer people in the shelters than usual, it’s probably the first of the month.

Every once in a while, if I haven’t had a lot of other expenses, I can stay at a hostel for a night or two. All of the hostels cost about $40 per night. I do that if there is no other option, and when I don’t have the money to do that, I can’t do that.

I did that a few weeks ago, because I was barred at the Pine Street Inn for having objected to being abused. The next time that I was at the Pine Street Inn, the person who had been abusive to me was wearing a sweatshirt that said “Hostelling International” on it. It seems to me that she believed, or wanted others to believe, that I am not really homeless and that I have money to do whatever I feel like doing. Those things aren’t true.

What I noticed about Hostelling International is that the shower curtains have a T-map on them. At the top of the map, in purple, it says “Haverhill.”

I took a picture of that when I stayed there, which I think the conglomerate got from my camera when I was uploading other things. I’ve seen it referenced before in the media; in fact, I think the Eyeopener referenced it this morning.

Copyright L. Kochman, December 26, 2012 @ 2:35 p.m./edited @ 2:40 p.m.

