12/21/12: Code, excerpts, search results, and a question about what might be a conglomerate tactic about search results

by thiswinteralso

December 21, 2012
I don’t choose excerpts for code purposes, either to read them or to publish them.  Sometimes I lose my temper when I’m looking for things to read on the Internet and I might choose something that I know is going to be interpreted as emphasizing something that I’m thinking or have said or am about to say; sometimes I do that when I’ve had a positive reaction to something, too. However, I try not to do that a lot because it can be confusing and I don’t want to have to worry about it when I’m doing searches just because I want to read about something.  It’s difficult to do anything when people are watching what you’re doing all the time and making a lot of other things happen because of what they’re watching you do, and I’d have to have no feelings all the time to deal with that privacy invasion the same way all the time.  If I turn into someone who has no feelings, then the conglomerate will have defeated me as a person, by taking away a large part of my humanity.
I chose the excerpt that I published on the previous page because it seemed accurate, intelligent and relevant, and for no other reason.  I don’t want to have to make those explanations all the time; everyone knows how I feel about everything, and they can figure it out.
I question how that particular article ended up on a first page of Yahoo search results for the term “group psychosis.” It certainly wasn’t written in support of the conglomerate’s agenda; it was written on March 22, 2000, years before the conglomerate happened.
The Internet engines all seem to be either part of the conglomerate, supportive of it, or dominated by it.  Are all of the engines’ search results for every subject categorized and presented according to numbers, words and so on that will put things that either are support for the conglomerate’s agenda or that could be misinterpreted by the casual observer as support for the conglomerate’s agenda on the first several pages of results for any search of any subject?

 

Copyright L. Kochman, December 21, 2012 @ 10:31 a.m.

