11/29/12: The Pine Street Inn

by thiswinteralso

November 29, 2012

I am coughed at and otherwise abused literally around the clock at the Pine Street Inn, by many of the guests and some of the staff.  There is no relief from it; not ever, and there doesn’t seem to be a way to address it.

This afternoon, a couple and a woman walked through some of the building.  The woman of the couple coughed at me.  Then she coughed at me again while she and the man and the woman whom they were with walked by me to leave.

With the tact for which I am famous when responding to a total stranger who has been rude and disgusting to me at a time when I’ve already had more than I can take, I said “Why don’t you pick on someone other than a homeless woman, you stupid bitch?”

A few minutes later, a staffperson walked out to me and asked me if I had said something to one of the people.  I said “She was very rude to me.  I know that I shouldn’t have said what I said to her the way that I said it.”  She said “Be careful; you’re talking to the people who run the place,” which was decent of her.

A few minutes after that, another staffperson walked out to me and told me that I couldn’t sit on the steps where I was sitting, that I had to move to a chair.  I’ve said there many times, and so have other people.  At least there, I am less visible to people who having nothing to do and so abuse me whenever they see me.  She made me move to one of the chairs. 

I know that I put a tag with my name on it with my coat before they put it away last night.  This afternoon, when I asked for my coat, I had to find it in their coat room because the tag was gone.

There are still Wet Floor signs in many places there where they are doing nothing but degrading women.

If the people whom I saw today are running the place, they should do better at running it than they are. 

What is a shelter for women doing degrading women and encouraging them to accept being degraded and to degrade each other?

Copyright L. Kochman, November 29, 2012 @ 3:11 p.m.

 

