11/16/12: What was done for people of color, President Obama refuses to do for women.

by thiswinteralso

November 16, 2012

The other night, I found a book on the shelf at The Pine Street Inn.  Most of the books on most of the shelter shelves don’t tend to be very good, but this one was, and I thought it probably would be.  I’d never heard of it, but I had heard of the author, Doris Kearns Goodwin.  I knew that she is said to be a good writer, and in fact the cover of the book describes her as “Author of NO ORDINARY TIME, Winner of the Pulitzer Prize.”  I also knew that she is a baseball enthusiast.  The name of the book is “Wait Till Next Year.”

As I wrote in my additional, explanatory page about excerpts on my WordPress blog “while homeless,” I don’t choose excerpts in order to make code statements.  I don’t intend that anything in them be taken out of its true and appropriate context and given a code interpretation.  It is important that this explanation is taken seriously.

The only message that I’m trying to send with the excerpt is the one that I’ve written in the title of this page.  President Obama could never have been president if it weren’t for the things that other people did to advance civil rights; yet, rather than being a protector of or advocate for human rights, President Obama is a human rights abuser.

I’m sure that there are some children reading my blog; for them, I want to explain that when Ms. Kearns Goodwin writes about the letter that she wrote to the president when she was a young student “If this doesn’t persuade the president, I thought to myself, nothing will,” she was probably making a joke about the naïve belief that she’d had that her one letter would change everything.

Copyright L. Kochman, November 16, 2012 @ 7:58 p.m.

