11/14/12: About suing

by thiswinteralso

November 14, 2012

It hasn’t been my preference to sue about the videos of me because the people most at fault are the ones who would probably be the most difficult to sue.  The people whom the conglomerate influenced and encouraged to do the actual videotaping are the ones who seem to me to be the most directly liable according to existing laws that didn’t anticipate the power of suggestion through various media and the Internet, that didn’t anticipate that the conglomerate would happen or that a worldwide attack on human rights would occur.

I suppose that people who have distributed the videos are liable, also.  However, I still think that the places where I have been videotaped in disregard of the fact that it happened where it’s reasonable to expect to have privacy are the places which are the most likely to be the first to be sued, if I try to sue; it seems to me that legally that’s the way it would have to happen.  The celebrities and other people with money and/or power and/or influence who encouraged it to happen and who have passed around the videos and distributed them and indirectly publicized them ad nauseum, and who would be the least financially harmed by having to pay for what they did, would be the most difficult to be made to pay, and the places which are supposed to help people, which have a lot less money and where people without education or empathy were misled into taking advantage of me and of everyone else who were trying to utilize the services are the places which are the most likely to suffer financially from being made to pay and are also the most directly, legally liable.

I would appreciate it if the video issue were discouraged, if the videos were as suppressed as they can be, as stopped from circulating as they can be.  I would appreciate it if more laws were passed and strengthened to prevent it from continuing to happen to me and to other people.  I would appreciate it if the question of privacy in the 21st century were seriously and thoughtfully addressed.

I’m not saying that I won’t try to sue.  I’m saying that I think it’s bad that the people who are the most at fault for what happened may never have to answer for what they’ve done.

Copyright L. Kochman, November 14, 2012 @ 10:50 a.m./edited @ 10:53 a.m.

